South Dakota Gun Laws
Learn about gun control laws, gun permit requirements, and penalties in South Dakota.
In South Dakota, adults can purchase a gun without a license. However, you must obtain a concealed handgun license to carry a concealed gun in your car or on (or near) your body, unless you are in your own home, business, or property. (S.D. Cod. Laws § 22-14-11.) For more information, see Open and Concealed Gun Carrying Laws in South Dakota.
How to Obtain a Concealed Handgun License in South Dakota
To obtain a safety certificate or concealed handgun license, you must apply at the sheriff’s office in the county where you reside. To qualify, you must:
- be at least 18 years old
- be a United States citizen
- have lived in the county where you are applying for a permit for at least 30 days prior to the date of application
- not have been convicted of any felony
- not have violated specified firearms and drug laws within the five years preceding the date of application
- not be a fugitive from justice
- have no history of violence
- not have been adjudicated as mentally incompetent or a danger to yourself or others within the ten years prior to the date of application, and
- not be habitually drunk or drugged.
(S.D. Cod. Laws § 23-7-7.)
Does South Dakota Recognize Concealed Carry Gun Permits From Other States?
Yes. South Dakota recognizes concealed handgun carry permits issued by states with which South Dakota has reciprocity agreements. (S.D. Cod. Laws § 22-14-9.2 & 23-7-7.3.) However, not all states recognize concealed carry permits issued by South Dakota. Holders of concealed carry permits from other approved states must follow South Dakota’s firearms laws while in the state. (S.D. Cod. Laws § 22-14-9.2.)
The South Dakota Secretary of State website provides a list of states with reciprocity agreements with South Dakota.
Penalties for Failing to Obtain a Concealed Carry Permit
It is a class 1 misdemeanor to carry a weapon in South Dakota without a concealed carry license (unless you are in your own home, place of business, or on your own property). Penalties include a fine of up to $2,000, up to one year in jail, or both. (S.D. Cod. Laws § 22-14-9.)
Getting Legal Help
If you have any questions about whether you are allowed to carry a gun in South Dakota, or if you are facing charges for a gun permit violation, consult a qualified criminal defense lawyer.