Oklahoma Gun Laws
Learn about gun control laws, gun permit requirements, and penalties in Oklahoma.
Talk to a Criminal Defense Lawyer
Enter Your Zip Code to Connect with a Lawyer Serving Your Area
In Oklahoma, adults can purchase and openly carry a rifle, shotgun, or handgun without a permit; but you must usually obtain a license to carry a concealed gun in your car or on (or near) your body.
For more information, see Open and Concealed Gun Carry Laws in Oklahoma.
How to Obtain a Concealed Carry Gun Permit in Oklahoma
To obtain a concealed carry gun permit, you must apply at the office of the sheriff in the county where you live, using a form provided by the Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigations. To qualify, you must:
- be a United States citizen
- at least 21 years old
- have a valid Oklahoma Driver’s License (or Oklahoma Photo Identification Card)
- complete a firearms safety course and demonstrate competence with the type of handgun to be carried, and submit proof of training
- submit a required fee ($100 for a five year permit or $200 for a ten year permit) to the Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigations, plus $25 to your local sheriff’s office, and
- comply with the provisions of the Oklahoma Self-Defense Act.
(53 Oklahoma Stat. Ann. § 1290.12.)
The Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigations maintains an automated listing of people who are issued a concealed carry license, and people whose licenses have been suspended or revoked. This list is only available to law enforcement agencies. When you hold a concealed carry license, you must inform the Bureau within 30 days of changing your mailing address. (53 Oklahoma Stat. Ann. § 1290.13.)
Does Oklahoma Recognize Concealed Carry Gun Permits From Other States?
Oklahoma will recognize concealed carry permits or licenses issued by other states. For a list of states with reciprocal gun permit laws, see the Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigations website.
Penalties for Failing to Obtain a Concealed Carry Permit
If you fail to get a concealed carry permit, you could be sent to jail for at least ten days (and up to six months), fined between $50 and $500, or both. (21 Oklahoma Stat. Ann. § 1289.15.) Penalties for more serious gun violations are more severe.
Getting Legal Help
If you have any questions about whether you are allowed to carry a gun in Oklahoma, or if you are facing charges for a gun permit violation, consult a qualified criminal defense lawyer.