Ohio Gun Laws
Learn about gun control laws, gun permit requirements, and penalties in Ohio.
Talk to a Criminal Defense Lawyer
Enter Your Zip Code to Connect with a Lawyer Serving Your Area
In Ohio, adults may purchase a gun and openly carry firearms without a permit. However, you must obtain a concealed handgun license to carry a concealed gun in your car or on (or near) your body. (Ohio Rev. Code Ann. § 2923.125(D)(1).)
For more information, see Open and Concealed Gun Carrying Laws in Ohio.
How to Obtain a Concealed Handgun License in Ohio
To obtain a concealed handgun license, you must apply at the sheriff’s office in the county where you reside. To qualify, you must be:
- at least 21 years old
- a legal U.S. resident
- a resident of Ohio for at least 45 days before the date of the permit application, and
- a resident of the county where you are submitting your application (or an adjacent county) for at least 30 days.
In addition, you cannot:
- be a fugitive from justice
- be charged or convicted of a felony or specified violent misdemeanors or crimes involving drugs
- have been adjudicated mentally defective, or involuntarily committed to a mental institution
- have been convicted of resisting arrest during the ten years prior to the application date, or
- be subject to a protection order in any state.
In order to obtain your license, you must also:
- show proof of successful completion of a firearm safety and training course, and
- certify that you have read a firearms safety pamphlet prepared by the Ohio Peace Officer Training Commission (you can get this pamphlet at your local sheriff’s office).
(Ohio Rev. Code Ann. § 2923.125(D)(1).)
Does Ohio Recognize Concealed Handgun Licenses From Other States?
Yes. Ohio recognizes out-of-state licenses, as long the issuing state has entered into an agreement to recognize Ohio concealed carry permits, and the concealed carry laws of the reciprocal state are “substantially comparable” to Ohio’s.
The Ohio Attorney General’s website provides a list of states with reciprocity agreements with Ohio.
(Ohio Rev. Code Ann. § 109.69(A).)
Penalties for Failing to Obtain a Concealed Handgun License
It is a misdemeanor to carry a concealed handgun in Ohio without a concealed carry license. Penalties include a fine of up to $1,000, up to six months in jail, or both. (Ohio Rev. Code Ann. § 2923.12.)"Tarte
Getting Legal Help
If you have any questions about whether you are allowed to carry a gun in Ohio, or if you are facing charges for a gun permit violation, consult a qualified criminal defense lawyer.