North Dakota Gun Laws
Learn about gun control laws, gun permit requirements, and penalties in North Dakota.
Talk to a Criminal Defense Lawyer
Enter Your Zip Code to Connect with a Lawyer Serving Your Area
North Dakota does not require a license to purchase a handgun. You may openly carry an unload weapon without a permit during the day, unless you have a concealed weapons permit, in which case you may openly carry loaded weapons during the day or night. (N.D. Cent. Code § 62.1-03.1.) For more information, see Open and Concealed Gun Carrying Laws in North Dakota.
How to Obtain a Concealed Handgun License in North Dakota
To obtain a concealed handgun license, you must apply at the sheriff’s office in the county where you live and (if your city has one) the chief of police. To qualify, you must:
- obtain written approval from your local county sheriff (AND chief of police, if your city has one)
- be at least 21 years old
- be eligible to possess a firearm under state and federal law
- have a valid reason for carrying a concealed firearm (including self protection, protection of others, or work-related needs)
- submit a $45 license fee
- pass a background check, and
- pass a test administered by a certified firearm and dangerous weapons instructor.
(N.D. Cent. Code § 62.1-03.1.)
Does North Dakota Recognize Concealed Carry Gun Permits From Other States?
A valid concealed handgun permit or license issued by another state is valid in North Dakota as long as the other state recognizes concealed handgun permits from North Dakota within that other state. The North Dakota attorney general’s website lists the states that North Dakota has reciprocity agreements with. (N.D. Cent. Code § 62.1-04-03.1.)
Getting Legal Help
If you have any questions about whether you are allowed to carry a gun in North Dakota, or if you are facing charges for a gun permit violation, consult a qualified criminal defense lawyer.