Nevada Gun Laws
Learn about gun control laws, gun permit requirements, and penalties in Nevada.
Talk to a Criminal Defense Lawyer
Enter Your Zip Code to Connect with a Lawyer Serving Your Area
In Nevada, adults may purchase and openly carry firearms without a permit. However, you must obtain a concealed handgun permit to carry a concealed gun on (or near) your body. (15 Nev. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 202.3657.)
For more information, see Open and Concealed Gun Carrying Laws in Nevada.
How to Obtain a Concealed Handgun Permit in Nevada
In Nevada, you may obtain one permit to carry all handguns you own. To obtain a concealed handgun permit, you must apply at the sheriff’s office in the county where you reside. To qualify, you must:
- be at least 21 years old, and
- complete a firearms safety course.
Additionally you must NOT:
- be prohibited from possessing a firearm under state or federal law
- have been declared incompetent or insane
- have been committed (voluntarily or involuntarily) to a mental health facility in the past five years
- be an alcoholic or addict, or convicted of certain crimes having to do with alcohol or controlled substances
- have been convicted of certain violent crimes (including domestic violence crimes) or a felony
- have an outstanding warrant for your arrest
- currently be on parole or probation, or
- have made false statements on past firearm permit applications.
(15 Nev. Rev. Stat. Ann. §§ 202.3657, 202.369.)
Does Nevada Recognize Concealed Handgun Permits From Other States?
Yes. Each year, the Nevada Department of Public Safety issues a list of states from which a valid concealed carry permit is recognized. If you have a license from a reciprocal state, and you are not a Nevada resident, your license is valid in Nevada. If you are a Nevada resident (or become one), you must apply for a Nevada permit.
A current list of reciprocal states is available at the Nevada Department of Public Safety’s website.
(15 Nev. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 202.3688.)
Penalties for Failing to Obtain a Concealed Handgun License
It is a category C felony to carry a concealed firearm without a permit in Nevada. Penalties include a fine of up to $10,000, at least one year (and up to five years) in prison, or both. (15 Nev. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 202.350.)
Getting Legal Help
If you have any questions about whether you are allowed to carry a gun in Nevada, or if you are facing charges for a gun permit violation, consult a qualified criminal defense lawyer.