Mississippi Gun Laws
Learn about gun control laws, gun permit requirements, and penalties in Mississippi.
Talk to a Criminal Defense Lawyer
Enter Your Zip Code to Connect with a Lawyer Serving Your Area
In Mississippi, adults may purchase and openly carry firearms without a permit. However, you must obtain a concealed handgun permit to carry a concealed gun on (or near) your body, unless you are on your own property, or at your place of business. (Miss. Ann. Code § 45-9-101.)
For more information, see Open and Concealed Gun Carrying Laws in Mississippi.
How to Obtain a Concealed Handgun Permit in Mississippi
To obtain a concealed handgun permit, you must apply at a Highway Patrol Substation. To qualify to receive a permit, you must:
- be at least 21 years old (or 18 if a member of the Armed Forces)
- be a Mississippi resident for at least 12 months (this requirement is waived if you have a valid permit from another state, you are an active military member stationed in Mississippi, or are a retired law enforcement officer establishing residency in Mississippi), and
- desire a legal means to defend yourself.
Additionally you must NOT:
- be a convicted felon
- be a fugitive from justice
- suffer from any physical infirmity that prevents safe handling of a firearm
- suffer from drug addiction, or have been committed for treatment of these conditions within the past three years
- chronically use alcohol to the extent that your normal facilities are impaired, have been committed to a treatment facility for alcohol abuse, or convicted of two or more offenses related to alcohol in the last three years
- have been adjudicated as mentally incompetent, or restored to capacity by court order within the last five years
- have been committed to a mental health institution or treatment facility within the past five years, or
- be prohibited from possessing a firearm under federal law.
The Department of Public Safety has 45 days from the time of the application to either issue the license or deny the application based on the ground that the applicant fails to meet the requirements.
(Miss. Ann. Code § 45-9-101.)
Does Mississippi Recognize Concealed Handgun Permits From Other States?
Yes. Mississippi recognizes valid concealed handgun permits from other states that recognize Mississippi permits. If you have a license from a reciprocal state, and you are not a Mississippi resident, your license is valid in Mississippi. If you are a Mississippi resident (or become one), you must apply for a Mississippi permit.
Penalties for Failing to Obtain a Concealed Handgun License
Penalties for carrying a concealed firearm without a permit in Mississippi include a fine of at least $100 (and up to $500), up to six months in jail, or both. A second conviction can incur at least 30 days (and up to six months) in jail, or both; and a third or subsequent offense incurs at least one year (and up to five years) in prison. (Miss. Ann. Code § 97-37-1.)
Getting Legal Help
If you have any questions about whether you are allowed to carry a gun in Mississippi, or if you are facing charges for a gun permit violation, consult a qualified criminal defense lawyer.