Minnesota Gun Laws
Learn about gun control laws, gun permit requirements, and penalties in Minnesota.
Talk to a Criminal Defense Lawyer
Enter Your Zip Code to Connect with a Lawyer Serving Your Area
In Minnesota, you must obtain a handgun permit to carry a firearm on (or near) your body (either openly or concealed), unless you are on your own property, at your place of business, or engaged in lawful hunting activities. (Mn. Stat. Ann. § 624.714.) The law does not distinguish between open or concealed carry for the purposes of issuing a permit.
For more information, see Open and Concealed Gun Carrying Laws in Minnesota.
How to Obtain a Handgun Permit in Minnesota
To obtain a handgun permit, you must complete an application and apply at the police or sheriff’s office in the county where you reside. To qualify, you must:
- be at least 21 years old
- be a resident of the county where you are requesting a permit
- be a United States citizen or permanent resident, and
- provide evidence that you have completed a firearms safety training course.
Additionally, you must NOT:
- have committed certain specified crimes, be on bail, or have a protection order currently against you
- be prohibited from possessing a firearm under state or federal law, and
- be listed in the Minnesota criminal gang investigation data system.
(Mn. Stat. Ann. § 624.714.)
A permit is valid for a period of five years and additional training is required to renew your license.
Does Minnesota Recognize Concealed Handgun Permits From Other States?
Yes. Minnesota recognizes valid concealed handgun permits from states that have gun laws substantially similar to Minnesota’s. If you have a license from one of these states, and you are not a Minnesota resident, your license is valid in Minnesota. If you are a Minnesota resident (or become one), you must apply for a Minnesota permit.
A current list of reciprocal states is available at the Minnesota Bureau of Criminal Apprehension’s website.
Penalties for Failing to Obtain a Concealed Handgun License
It is a gross misdemeanor to carry a concealed firearm without a permit in Minnesota. Penalties include a fine of up to $3,000, up to one year in jail, or both.
Getting Legal Help
If you have any questions about whether you are allowed to carry a gun in Minnesota, or if you are facing charges for a gun permit violation, consult a qualified criminal defense lawyer.