In Arizona, as of July 2010, anyone age 21 or over is permitted to carry a concealed weapon without a permit. Arizona is only 1 of 3 states in modern history to legalize the carrying of concealed weapons without a permit. This is a change from a former Arizona law that required permits for concealed weapons.
Despite the current law, there are circumstances in which carrying a concealed weapon is not permitted. For example, a person cannot carry a concealed weapon on the premises of a retailer who has posted a sign prohibiting firearm possession on that particular property. (Arizona Statutes § 4-229.) Arizona still offers concealed weapon permits, which may be useful in a few situations. For example, a permit is required to carry a firearm into certain regulated places, such as a bar or restaurant that serves alcohol. Obtaining a permit also makes it possible to carry a concealed weapon into another state that recognizes Arizona’s permit.
Though Arizona doesn’t require a permit to carry a gun in the state, that doesn’t mean that you can carry any kind of gun whenever or wherever you like.
To learn more about the restrictions on carrying firearms in Arizona, see Open and Concealed Gun Carry Laws in Arizona.
Read on to learn the details of Arizona’s handgun permit process.
The Arizona Department of Public Safety (DPS) must issue you a concealed weapons permit if you are:
To qualify, you must also demonstrate competence with a firearm.
(Arizona Statutes § 13-3112(E).)
You may demonstrate competency with a firearm by:
(Arizona Statutes § 13-3112(N).)
To obtain an Arizona concealed weapons permit, you must complete and submit an application -- including fingerprint cards -- to the Department of Public Safety. The current fee for a new permit is $60. You can find complete procedures and instructions for obtaining an application by visiting the Arizona Department of Public Safety website.
You must renew your permit every five years. Before granting your renewal, the Department of Public Safety will conduct a criminal history records check. You do not have to submit an additional fingerprint card with your renewal application, but must pay a $43 fee. (Arizona Statutes § 13-3112(K).)
You can find a list of the states that recognize Arizona concealed weapons permits by visiting the Arizona Department of Public Safety website. The DPS recommends that, before traveling to another state, you contact that state directly to confirm that you can use your Arizona permit carry a concealed weapon in the state.
The DPS will suspend or revoke your permit if you become ineligible according to the rules above. The DPS must notify you in writing within fifteen working days after the revocation or suspension of your permit, and must state the reasons for revoking or suspending your permit. (Ariz. Rev. Stat. § 13-3112(M).)
Depending on the specific offense, violating a gun law in Arizona could constitute anything from a misdemeanor to a serious felony offense. You can learn the specifics by carefully reading sections 13-3102 of the Arizona Statutes.
If you have any questions about whether you are allowed to carry a gun in Arizona, or if you are facing charges for a gun permit or carry violation, consult a qualified criminal defense lawyer.