Alaska Gun Laws
Learn about gun control laws, gun permit requirements, and penalties in Alaska.
Talk to a Criminal Defense Lawyer
Enter Your Zip Code to Connect with a Lawyer Serving Your Area
In Alaska, any law-abiding adult may legally carry a handgun, whether openly or concealed. No special permit is required. However, the state issues handgun permits to its residents so that they can carry handguns into other states that recognize Alaska’s concealed carry license. Read on to learn the details of Alaska’s handgun permit process.
Who Can Obtain a Handgun Permit in Alaska
You qualify for a handgun permit in Alaska if you:
- are at least 21 years old
- have resided in Alaska for at least 90 days before applying for the permit
- have not been convicted of two or more Class A misdemeanors in Alaska (or convicted of similar crimes in any other jurisdiction) within six years immediately preceding the application for a permit
- are not now in or have not in the immediately preceding past three years been ordered by a court to complete an alcohol or substance abuse treatment program
- are not otherwise forbidden from owning or possessing a handgun under state or federal law, and
- successfully complete an approved handgun course.
(Alaska Statutes § 18.65.705.)
How to Obtain a Gun Permit in Alaska
If you meet the requirements above, the Alaska Department of Public Safety must issue you a handgun permit. You need to apply in person at an Alaska State Troopers’ office and meet the qualifications as described above. You cannot be suffering from a physical infirmity that prevents the safe handling of a firearm. You must also provide:
- a completed application form
- a valid Alaska driver’s license or I.D. card
- a photograph not more than 30 days old
- a set of identifiable fingerprints taken by a technician approved by the Department of Public Safety
- proof that you successfully completed a handgun course, and
- the full application fee, which runs about $100.
The application fee is not refundable. Your license is good until your birthday in the fifth year after it is issued, after which time it must be renewed.
(Alaska Statutes § 18.65.700.)
You can obtain an application form by visiting the Alaska Department of Public Safety website.
States In Which Your Alaska Permit Is Valid
For a list of states where you can carry a handgun with a valid Alaska permit, see the website of the Alaska Department of Public Safety.
When Your Permit Can Be Suspended or Revoked
If you no longer meet the requirements for a permit set out above, your permit will be suspended and you must surrender it to the nearest peace officer. The Department of Public Safety will keep your permit until it is either revoked or returned to you. (Alaska Statutes § 18.65.735.)
Your permit will be revoked if you are disqualified under the rules above or if any of the following are true:
- you are convicted of two Class A misdemeanors in Alaska (or convicted of similar crimes in any other jurisdiction) within a six-year period if it at least one of the convictions occurs after you apply for the permit
- you supplied false information when applying for or renewing your permit.
If your permit is revoked, you may not apply for another until at least five years have passed. The determination to revoke a permit is appealable.
(Alaska Statutes § 18.65.740.)
Penalties for Illegally Possessing a Handgun
Even if you have a permit, there are places where you may not legally possess a concealed handgun. If you violate the law, you are guilty of a Class B misdemeanor (up to 90 days in jail), and other penalties may apply. (Alaska Statutes §§ 18.65.755, 12.55.135.)
For more information about where you may and may not carry a gun in Alaska, see Open and Concealed Gun Carry Laws in Alaska.
Getting Legal Help
If you have any questions about whether you are allowed to carry a gun in Alaska, or if you are facing charges for a gun permit or carry violation, consult a qualified criminal defense lawyer.