Texas Gun Laws
Learn about gun control laws, gun permit requirements, and penalties in Texas.
In Texas, adults can purchase a gun without a license. However, you must obtain a concealed handgun license to carry a concealed gun in your car or on (or near) your body, and you are prohibited from openly carrying a firearm in Texas unless you are on your own property. (Texas Penal Code § 46.02.) For more information, see Open and Concealed Gun Carrying Laws in Texas.
How to Obtain a Concealed Handgun License in Texas
To obtain a concealed handgun license, you must apply at the city or town clerk’s office in the city or town where you live or have a place of business. Your local licensing authorities have the discretion to determine whether or not to issue the permit. To qualify, you must:
- be at least 21 years
- be a legal resident of Texas for at least six months prior to the date of application
- not have been convicted of a felony offense or be charged with the commission of specified misdemeanors within the five years prior to the date of application
- not have committed offenses in the past ten years as a juvenile delinquent that, if committed as an adult, would have been a felony
- not be under a court protective order or restraining order having to do with domestic offenses
- not be delinquent in making child support payments as collected by the attorney general
- not be delinquent in state tax payments
- not be a fugitive from justice
- not be a chemically dependent person
- be capable of exercising sound judgment regarding the proper use of a handgun, and
- be qualified to carry a handgun under federal law.
(Texas Pen. Code § 411.172.)
Does Texas Recognize Concealed Carry Gun Permits From Other States?
Yes. Texas recognizes concealed handgun carry permits issued by other states. However, not all states recognize concealed carry permits issued by Texas.
The Texas Department of Public Safety website provides a list of states with reciprocity agreements with Texas.
Penalties for Failing to Obtain a Concealed Carry Permit
It is a class A misdemeanor to carry a weapon (openly or concealed) in Texas without a concealed carry license. Penalties include a fine of up to $2,500, up to one year in jail, or both.
Getting Legal Help
If you have any questions about whether you are allowed to carry a gun in Texas, or if you are facing charges for a gun permit violation, consult a qualified criminal defense lawyer.