Oregon Gun Laws
Learn about gun control laws, gun permit requirements, and penalties in Oregon.
In Oregon, adults can purchase and openly carry a rifle, shotgun, or handgun without a permit; but you must usually obtain a license to carry a concealed gun in your car or on (or near) your body. For more information, see Open and Concealed Gun Carry Laws in Oregon.
How to Obtain a Concealed Handgun License in Oregon
To obtain a concealed handgun license, you must apply at the local sheriff’s office in the county where you live. To qualify, you must:
- be a United States citizen; or be a legal resident alien who can document continuous residency in the county for at least six months and can document intent to obtain U.S. Citizenship
- be a resident of the county in which you are submitting a license
- at least 21 years old
- have no outstanding warrants for arrest
- not be free on any form of pretrial release
- demonstrate competence with a handgun (through a handgun safety training course; military, law enforcement, or National Rifle Association training; or if already licensed, and requesting renewal)
- is not a convicted felon (or misdemeanor within four years preceding the application)
- submit a $50 fee to the sheriff’s office, and a $15 fee for an Oregon state background check
- submit two pieces of current identification (at least one must be a photo ID)
- submit a completed application (to be obtained from your sheriff’s office)
(Oregon Rev. Stat. Ann. § 166.291.)
Does Oregon Recognize Concealed Carry Gun Permits From Other States?
No. Oregon does not recognize concealed carry permits or licenses issued by other states. You will need an Oregon Concealed Handgun License to carry a concealed handgun in Oregon. (Oregon Rev. Stat. Ann. § 166.291 –166.297.)
Penalties for Failing to Obtain a Concealed Carry Permit
If you fail to get a concealed carry permit, you could be sent to jail for up to six months, be fined up to $2,500, or both. (Oregon Rev. Stat. Ann. § 161.615 & -635.) Penalties for more serious gun violations are more severe.
Getting Legal Help
If you have any questions about whether you are allowed to carry a gun in Oregon, or if you are facing charges for a gun permit violation, consult a qualified criminal defense lawyer.