Michigan Gun Laws
Learn about gun control laws, gun permit requirements, and penalties in Michigan.
Talk to a Criminal Defense Lawyer
Enter Your Zip Code to Connect with a Lawyer Serving Your Area
In Michigan, adults may purchase and openly carry firearms without a permit. However, you must obtain a concealed handgun permit to carry a concealed gun on (or near) your body; unless you are on your own property, in your residence, or at your place of business. (Mich. Comp. Laws Ann. § 750.227.)
For more information, see Open and Concealed Gun Carrying Laws in Michigan.
How to Obtain a Concealed Handgun Permit in Michigan
To obtain a concealed handgun permit, you must apply at the police or sheriff’s office in the county where you reside. To qualify, you must be:
- at least 21 years old
- a United States citizen (or a non-citizen who is lawfully living in the U.S.)
- a Michigan resident (for at least the past six months), and
- able to demonstrate completion of a firearms safety training course.
Additionally you must NOT:
- be a convicted felon (or currently have felony charges pending against you)
- have been convicted of certain misdemeanors in the past three years (or certain domestic violence or abuse crimes within the past eight years)
- be subject to certain court orders (such as a restraining order)
- have been dishonorably discharged from the armed services
- not have been adjudicated mentally ill or legally incapacitated, involuntarily committed to a mental health facility, or currently suffer from a diagnosed mental illness (even if you are receiving treatment), and
- pose a treat a danger to yourself or others if you were to possess a firearm.
In March 2015, the governor of Michigan signed legislation designed to streamline the process of applying for a concealed license. By December 2015, county gun boards will be eliminated and licensing responsibilities will fall exclusively to county clerks and the Michigan State Police. Clerks will be required to issue licenses based on statutory eligibility alone and must issue a license to a qualified applicant within 45 days.
Does Michigan Recognize Concealed Handgun Permits From Other States?
Yes. Michigan recognizes valid concealed handgun permits issued from other states. If you have a valid license issued to you as a resident of another state, you may carry a concealed weapon in Michigan as long as you follow the applicable Michigan gun-carry laws.
However, not all states recognize Michigan licenses. A current list of states that do (and do not) honor Michigan licenses is available at the Michigan State Attorney General’s website.
Penalties for Failing to Obtain a Concealed Handgun License
It is a felony to carry a firearm in Michigan without a license. Penalties include a fine of up to $2,500, up to five years in prison, or both. (Mich. Comp. Laws Ann. § 750.227.)
Getting Legal Help
If you have any questions about whether you are allowed to carry a gun in Michigan, or if you are facing charges for a gun permit violation, consult a qualified criminal defense lawyer.