Florida Gun Laws
Learn about gun control laws, gun permit requirements, and penalties in Florida.
In Florida, adults may purchase a gun without a license. (Fl. Stat. Ann. § 790.053.) However, you may not openly carry firearms (except for lawful self defense), and must obtain a concealed handgun permit to carry a concealed gun on (or near) your body. (Fl. Stat. Ann. § 790.01.) For more information, see Open and Concealed Gun Carrying Laws in Florida.
How to Obtain a Concealed Handgun License in Florida
Any person carrying a concealed handgun must also have in their possession a valid handgun license and identification. To obtain a concealed handgun license, you must apply through the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services. To qualify, you must:
- be a U.S. citizen or permanent resident alien
- be at least 21 years old
- be eligible to possess a firearm under Florida and federal law
- demonstrate competence with a handgun
- desire to carry a concealed weapon for the purpose of lawful self defense, and
- submit a license fee of $70 (or $60 for a renewal), a full color photograph of yourself, proof of firearm competency, and a full set of fingerprints
Additionally, you must not:
- suffer from a physical infirmity that would prevent you from safely handling a firearm
- be a convicted felon
- chronically and habitually use alcohol to the extent that your normal faculties are impaired
- have been committed for the abuse of a controlled substance or found guilty of certain crimes involving controlled substances within the past three years
- have been adjudicated as incapacitated or committed to a mental institution in the last five years
- have had an adjudication of guilt for a domestic violence crime (misdemeanor or felony) withheld, or a sentence suspended, in the prior three years, and
- have a current injunction or restraining order issued against you for domestic or other violence.
(Fl. Stat. Ann. § 790.06.)
Does Florida Recognize Concealed Handgun Licenses From Other States?
Yes. Florida recognizes out-of-state licenses, as long the license holder is:
- a U.S. citizen
- is at least 21 years old
- has in his or her immediate possession the valid out-of-state license, and
- abides by Florida state laws and restrictions regarding concealed weapons.
(Fl. Stat. Ann. § 790.015.)
Penalties for Failing to Obtain a Concealed Handgun License
It is a third degree felony to carry a concealed handgun in Florida without a concealed carry permit. (Fl. Stat. Ann. § 790.01.) Penalties include a fine of up to $5,000, up to five years in prison, or both.
Getting Legal Help
If you have any questions about whether you are allowed to carry a gun in Florida, or if you are facing charges for a gun permit violation, consult a qualified criminal defense lawyer.